Monday, August 29, 2011

Getting sick... it's inevitable

Malheureusement, (Unfortunately) I have a sore throat...
and have been bedridden (aside from going to school) for the past two days.
Because I had the will power to get out of bed and go buy the rest of my uniform (yes, there was more) and the ability to shower and eat comfortably, I am going to take the time to describe my day to you all. Oh, and I have never really acknowledged the people who actually take the time to read the novels I write for a day's time and so; Thank you! If you can, please comment! I would like to get some feedback.... (at times I feel as if I am writing to a brick wall..it is nice to know who has read my blog)

Without further adieu, another day in the life of a girl living the American dream, one day at a time...

It is 3 o'clock in the morning (Houston time) and I find myself in a bed that is not my own, in a house I have hardly inhabited, with people I just met, but somehow I feel as if I have been here my entire life. Despite the mixed feelings I had the moment I stepped through these doors, I now no longer feel insecure about who I am with, what I eat, or what I do. I never would have thought I was going to adapt to these foreign lands so quickly. When people ask me how long I have been in Posadas it shocks me to say, "a mere week." or "a couple days ago" because to me it seems like a lifetime.

Skype and Facebook remind me of the life I left behind of the people I once knew and the experiences I underwent, but as the days go by, the further and further I feel from the place I used to call home. It comes to a surprise to the people I meet, like the butcher or the seamstress, that I came here all alone. Not knowing anyone, and leaving everything behind. But to me it seems like a new stepping stone in life and without leaving my roots, I have the ability to grow as an individual in this meager but yet monumental year.

I have encountered numerous exchange students, who have told me that this is the year to either "make it or break it". But why does it have to be something to accomplish? Something to "get through'? Why can't it be a year to experience and grow? Yes, at times it is hard but no one said it would be easy... Some say it is the opportunity to be someone completely different... but I am perfectly content with who I am and where I come from. I see this year as a year of opportunity, a year to meet as many people as I can, learn about everything and nothing, a year to love everything in this world, both the good and the bad, and above all to adapt.  Despite how difficult it may be or what others may tell me, I know that I am well prepared and that many other people have undergone the same thing if not more. 


At times I get scared I am may run out of time, as if the seconds on the clock could not go any faster. What if I don't get the chance to help at the orphanage? What if I don't go to as many Rotary meetings as I want to? School will be over in the blink of an eye and I won't have had the opportunity to share my experiences with the class nor learn about about Argentine Politics or Human Rights like I wanted to. At those moments I have to remind myself that everything occurs for a reason. There is a reason as to why I came to Posadas and not Cordoba or Maipu. There is a reason as to why I am living on the corner of Rademacher and Estado Israel. There is a reason for EVERYTHING and with time,  my purpose will come. All I have to do now, is sit back and enjoy everything about this year and let the opportunities come to me, which I know they will. 


I know my original purpose on writing this blog was to tell you about another day in the life of Valeria, but I found that reflecting is good every once and a while! Just some thoughts... If you have any feedback please comment!

*Note: I know that the title has nothing to do with what I said, but my throat was burning the entire time I wrote this and I found that the title would somewhat alleviate it all. Thank you for understanding...haha


Thursday, August 25, 2011

First day of school

So today was my first day of school! I thought this day would never come but it did! When my alarm went off I was already up and ready to go. The only thing I wasn't too psyched about was the uniform but I could live with it. My host mom thought it was funny that I disliked the uniform so much because it wasn't really... my style. haha I refused to take a picture of it...sorry! haha

When I arrived, the principal took me to meet the students that were going to be in my grade. (5 grado de secundaria) I was a bit nervous at first, not knowing if they would take me in right away or just look at me as if I were a weird specimen. That thought was quickly thrown away, the moment I saw the look of interest and delight on their faces. They all introduced themselves to me and I to them. I, of course, did not register any of their names because I was a bit overwhelmed, but nevertheless I made friends very fast.

School starts at 7 in the morning and ends at noon. Short, but yet long because we stay in the same class and we don't get to have lunch. The first thing we did was pray out in the courtyard. Luckily I knew most of the prayers because my mom had taught them to me when I was little but there were some I did not know entirely. Nevertheless, I did not stick out in the crowd.

School here is veryyyy different than in the states. When the bell rings for the class to start, class DOESN'T start. Everyone talks and the teacher doesn't show up until 15 minutes into it. One must ALWAYS stand up when the professor enters the class. I did not know that and looked a bit stupid when everyone stood but me. But I have gotten used to me not knowing what to do... I'm foreign, I have an excuse :P
haha

I was bombarded with questions the moment I sat down, which was expected and a bit amusing on my part. I got to tell them every bit of my life and sounded somewhat rehearsed, which I probably was because everyone asks the same questions.

"Where are you from?"
"Why do you know spanish so well?"
"How long have you been here?"
"How long are you going to stay?"
"Do you like Posadas?"
"What is the stereotype of Argentine people?"

In that exact order... I kid you not.
haha

I sat next to a nice girl who seems very studious. Probably was, because she sat at the very front of the class. haha That is the same in every country, I think.

So she informed me of EVERYTHING I needed to do, which was very overwhelming and tiring to hear, let alone think about how I was going to get myself organized. Luckily, today we got to go to the "Movie Theatre" which was something put together by the class below us to raise money for a house for children with cancer. I thought it was nice and we got to skip 2 hours of class which everyone liked. I learned a new word too... popcorn is not palomitas here it is "pororo" ...interesting I know!
We watched Tron in spanish which was very interesting given that the mouths were definitely not moving in sync with the words. I got a kick out of that. ha ha!

I was invited to a party this weekend where I promised I would bring spicy candy so they could all try REAL candy! Next thing I knew, school was over and I was on my way home.

I took a nap as soon as I got home and then woke up and went to the gym. The weather right now is incredible! I wanted to be outside all day. haha

Although I got out of school early, the day went by veryyy fast! I am still getting used to the eating schedule and tried a empanada for the first time! It was delicious :)

Thanks for reading!




Tuesday, August 23, 2011

School was a NO go

My alarm goes off at 6 in the morning and despite how difficult it was for me to get out of bed I did in a content manner. I get ready and am ready in less than 30 minutes. Next thing I know I am on my way to the one and only "Inmaculada Concepcion". We were there in less than 5 minutes. Thank goodness! Because I a, going to have to walk to school and with the amount of blisters I have now, there is no way I can go far.

I was definitely nervous going in. I did not know what to expect and really wanted for everyone to like me and not to just be the "new girl from a foreign country". I wanted for people to befriend me because I seemed nice not because I was foreign. But I didn't even get to finish my thoughts because the moment I walked in to the principals office, she REJECTED ME!

Yes I did say REJECT.

She told me I had to have a uniform to go to school. But I would have not been allowed in for various other reasons; My hair was down, I had make up on, my nails were red, and I had earrings. The rules are ; No makeup, No earrings, No nail polish and hair must be gelled back in a ponytail.

....yeah....

At least I get to wake up later, right? ... Anyone?

 -_-

So I was sent back to my home and because I had woken up so early I could not go back to bed so I decided to go to the grocery store and go on a walk. So I go to the grocery store and buy A LOT of food and when I came back.... low and behold.... I was LOCKED OUTSIDE.

Great.

So I decided to continue my walk for a few minutes until Rosa (the housekeeper) came home. The few minutes turned into an hour. By the time I cam back I was exhausted but I had no time to rest because I had to go to the gym and get measured for my uniform.

The gym was quite interesting. It is not like a gym in the US. Because a.) It is in a house b.) a man tells you what you have to do and you have no other choice but to do it and c.) the machines are...well... different. haha but all in all I worked up a sweat :)

After the gym I walked downtown and my legs pretty much gave out by the time I got there and I bought the tie that goes with my uniform and tights. A man asked me if I was buying my police officer uniform? haha?

I came back by bus for the first time and skyped with everyone and their mother including my mother!

Even though I didn't go to school I am EXHAUSTED!

thanks for reading! :)

Monday, August 22, 2011

What a day!

I just realized I failed to write about my day yesterday, so this is a two in one deal.

Okay, so... Yesterday my family took me to eat at the ONLY chinese restaurant here in Posadas because I told them how much I liked it. They made an effort to eat spicy food once again, which I thought was very cute. (They didn't end up finishing their meal) haha
Because I am an exchange student and should supposedly not be fluent in the language my host country speaks, I decided to only speak english yesterday which turned out to be very amusing for both the family and myself. I even spoke in english to the waitress and I had the entire restaurant FOOLED! It was a classic. Note to self: I will definitely do that more often... haha

Then we went to a Rotarian's house (Julio Cesar Oegg) to have coffee and talked about the WONDERFUL trips I will be making and all the exchange students I will be meeting... pause for dramatic effect... YAYYYY! The moment I have been waiting for so long! He said we were all going to meet at the Iguazu Falls once we all arrive. I am one of the first exchange students here and so we will probably all go mid september. And by all, I mean EVERYONE in my district (50 of us)

Then we went to walk at the Costa NERA *correction* I called it la costa NEGRA last time because my host brother tricked me! >:( haha And we walked along the coast, but unfortunately it was veryyyyyyy cold and I could not enjoy it as much. We visited the little stands on the side of the river and I got to try MATE for the first time! FINALLY! hah It wasn't that bad... I actually kind of liked it....
:)

So then Flor (my host sister) decided it was too cold and ditched me! I was left with my host cousin Quique who has been super nice to me, and by nice I mean drives me everywhere and never makes a face. We drank mate in the freezing cold and in the middle of the street, which apparently everyone does here. Just stands in the cold air and sips on their mate while playing loud music in the back of their cars. EVERYONE has their own music and so it pretty much sounds like a mixture of crap (pardon my language but I could not find a better fitting word for that sentence)  And so once our hands were about to fall off from the cold, we decided to leave.

I then went to the Kareoke with my host sister and some friends and we sang/ danced the night away.

That concludes yesterday and now today....

So I woke up to the sound of my mother's knocking on the door and was informed that we would be eating at our grandmother's house. A woman of 85 with 10 children and 50 grand children! We ate a traditional Posadas meal (meat, soup, mandioca, and a concoction of cheese and bread) and was introduced to their lovely chihuahua Leon (Lion)

We then left and I decided to walk downtown to visit my sister at work. It took me forty minutes in the freezing rain. Not a good idea. I talked with her and met some locals who told me it was blatant that I was definitely not from around here just by the mere fact that I am a foot taller than everyone else... haha
We then caught up with a friend and ate Panchos which are hot dogs. They were delicious!
Then I came back home and ate AGAIN with the entire family and then some. And what did we have? Oh yeah... Meat.. again! haha Thank goodness I am not a vegetarian!

Well I better go now... tomorrow I start school at 7 in the morning which mean I have to wake up at 5 :(
And its is midnight... I better get some rest.
Adios!

Saturday, August 20, 2011

FINALLY HERE

So I know I have been an EPIC FAIL once again at updating my blog but with facebook, skype, a journal, a notebook, a cellphone, AND a blog... it is a bit impossible to update everything. Haha but I will try to summarize the past week in a couple short paragraphs (my readers have requested that I keep it short)

Okay so here it goes....

The flights were VERY long because I did not sleep! I was so nervous/excited I felt as if the hours could not go by any slower.

When I said my last goodbye (to my parents) I did not fully realize I was going to be leaving them for a VERY long time and so I said my goodbyes and was on my way! It was not until I had arrived to my new home and unpacked and was ready for bed that it hit me and I could feel the tears coming. Tears, not because I disliked my new home, but because my new home meant I no longer had the other one (at least for a year)

I did not know what to expect the next morning I woke up. My host parents had gone to work early in the morning and I had all day to unpack and settle in. So for the first two days I stayed in and was given a tour of the city which I LOVED and La costa negra, which is the coast along the Parana river (the river that divides my city in Argentina from  Encarnacion in Paraguay). La Costa Negra is probably my favorite part of the Posadas. People used to swim in it until a tragedy that occurred last year. Eight people died while racing across the river. Some were saving those who were crossing and others were mere 13 year olds who got caught in the rift.

So yesterday I decided to cook for my host family nothing other than my favorite mexican dish... ENCHILADAS! Now one thing about Argentine people is that they DO NOT eat spicy foods. For them spicy is pepper... and that is as far as they go. So the salsa I had in mind to use had to be watered down with caldo de pollo (chicken broth) but in the end the enchiladas were quite a success! We had frjoles (beans) with them as well but here they are called "porotos". Which brings me to my next point...
Although Argentina and Mexico are both spanish speaking countries, there are MANY words that they either use differently or have another word for.

CAUTION: the following examples may contain rude/grotesque descriptions/words

For Example, "trastes" are dishes in Mexico but for the Argentine people it is a butt. And so when I said " Who wants to wash the dishes?" it translated into "who wants to wash butts?" and the entire table burst out laughing. Another one which I will never forget is that of "El dulce de leche" which is like caramel here. In Mexico, we have something similar to it called "cajeta" but here cajeta is well... something pertaining to a female part of the body. haha. So when I told them I liked to eat bananas with caramel, well I pretty much set my self up for a year of banter.

As some of you may or may not know, it is winter here in South America and it is VERY cold and so to keep warm the people drink mate. Mate is like a hot tea. It is served in a goblet looking cup and dranken with a metal straw usually with some design on the end. Mate is the mixture of hot water and a lot of herbs. My host family did not want for me to try it in the car with them because those who drink it for the first time usually have a bad reaction to it. haha. And YES I did say in the car.

When I say they drink mate anywhere anytime... I mean ANYWHERE ANYTIME.

In the store, on the couch, at the gym, at a party, in the club, at work, on the street, in the yard, in the bed, at school... From dawn 'til dusk.

Well I promised I would keep it short so I will stop writing now!
I will update this more often so that I can keep each update a lot shorter!

hasta manana



Monday, August 15, 2011

Goodbye...


Soooo...because certain people told me my posts were way too long, here is a short one:

The day I have been waiting for so long is finally here. Time for me to leave everything I have ever known and inhabit a foreign country. Time for me to prove myself and undertake challenges I never thought I would face. Most importantly, time for me to represent my country and make a difference in the world. America, it has been great… I will never forget all of the wonderful opportunities, and people I have met, and grown to love in this country. But another world is out there and I am going to find it. Good bye, I'll be back before you know it!

Monday, August 8, 2011

One more week and so much to do....

So I know I have been pretty much an EPIC FAIL at the whole updating my blog every week or so, but as I said before, I have been pretty busy this summer. I just recently came back from Puerto Vallarta Mexico and BOY was that fun. I went to the beach every day and just relaxed...I think that is what summer vacation should really be like but Oh well!

 I was there for almost three weeks even though I was originally only supposed to stay for 2 weeks but I HAD to stay for my cousins 30th ...I mean 29th birthday.... because I probably won't see him in the next 5 years (He likes to disappear for long periods of time). The next thing I knew, I was on a plane back to Houston. The hardest part about leaving was knowing that I would not spend Christmas vacation there which I have been doing for the past 18 years (my entire life) and that is when I realized that this year is going to be veryyyyyyyy different. I am going to be living as another person, which is kind of scary but yet intriguing at the same time.

I did not sleep on the plane and with the few hours of sleep I had gotten before I was a bit disoriented by the time I arrived home. It was weird. It was as if I had been away for a long time even though it had just been three weeks. I can't imagine how bizarre things will be when I come back from Argentina...

I was happy to see my family once again although Sebastian (my brother), was no longer at home. He is currently in Spain having the time of his life, and coincidentally, will not be here when I take flight. The last time I saw him was when I left for Puerto Vallarta and was my first real goodbye. It was hard but prepared me for the many goodbyes I will be making in this next week.

ONE week.... 7 days.... that is all the time I have to pack, learn how to cook, say goodbye, and lose some pounds. Time really does fly. I am shocked at how fast the summer has gone by but at the same time I am anxious for the time to go by faster. I cannot start packing until I have two days left because I will obviously need the clothes. So... right now I am just enjoying time with my friends and family. (something I rarely do...shame on me!)

Overall I think this experience will teach me to enjoy life and well HAVE FUN!