So today was my first day of school! I thought this day would never come but it did! When my alarm went off I was already up and ready to go. The only thing I wasn't too psyched about was the uniform but I could live with it. My host mom thought it was funny that I disliked the uniform so much because it wasn't really... my style. haha I refused to take a picture of it...sorry! haha
When I arrived, the principal took me to meet the students that were going to be in my grade. (5 grado de secundaria) I was a bit nervous at first, not knowing if they would take me in right away or just look at me as if I were a weird specimen. That thought was quickly thrown away, the moment I saw the look of interest and delight on their faces. They all introduced themselves to me and I to them. I, of course, did not register any of their names because I was a bit overwhelmed, but nevertheless I made friends very fast.
School starts at 7 in the morning and ends at noon. Short, but yet long because we stay in the same class and we don't get to have lunch. The first thing we did was pray out in the courtyard. Luckily I knew most of the prayers because my mom had taught them to me when I was little but there were some I did not know entirely. Nevertheless, I did not stick out in the crowd.
School here is veryyyy different than in the states. When the bell rings for the class to start, class DOESN'T start. Everyone talks and the teacher doesn't show up until 15 minutes into it. One must ALWAYS stand up when the professor enters the class. I did not know that and looked a bit stupid when everyone stood but me. But I have gotten used to me not knowing what to do... I'm foreign, I have an excuse :P
haha
I was bombarded with questions the moment I sat down, which was expected and a bit amusing on my part. I got to tell them every bit of my life and sounded somewhat rehearsed, which I probably was because everyone asks the same questions.
"Where are you from?"
"Why do you know spanish so well?"
"How long have you been here?"
"How long are you going to stay?"
"Do you like Posadas?"
"What is the stereotype of Argentine people?"
In that exact order... I kid you not.
haha
I sat next to a nice girl who seems very studious. Probably was, because she sat at the very front of the class. haha That is the same in every country, I think.
So she informed me of EVERYTHING I needed to do, which was very overwhelming and tiring to hear, let alone think about how I was going to get myself organized. Luckily, today we got to go to the "Movie Theatre" which was something put together by the class below us to raise money for a house for children with cancer. I thought it was nice and we got to skip 2 hours of class which everyone liked. I learned a new word too... popcorn is not palomitas here it is "pororo" ...interesting I know!
We watched Tron in spanish which was very interesting given that the mouths were definitely not moving in sync with the words. I got a kick out of that. ha ha!
I was invited to a party this weekend where I promised I would bring spicy candy so they could all try REAL candy! Next thing I knew, school was over and I was on my way home.
I took a nap as soon as I got home and then woke up and went to the gym. The weather right now is incredible! I wanted to be outside all day. haha
Although I got out of school early, the day went by veryyy fast! I am still getting used to the eating schedule and tried a empanada for the first time! It was delicious :)
Thanks for reading!
Vale we have tried to post comments to no avail let's see if this one works
ReplyDeleteOk great now we can follow your adventure and enjoy it with you
ReplyDeleteLove u