So I know I have been an EPIC FAIL once again at updating my blog but with facebook, skype, a journal, a notebook, a cellphone, AND a blog... it is a bit impossible to update everything. Haha but I will try to summarize the past week in a couple short paragraphs (my readers have requested that I keep it short)
Okay so here it goes....
The flights were VERY long because I did not sleep! I was so nervous/excited I felt as if the hours could not go by any slower.
When I said my last goodbye (to my parents) I did not fully realize I was going to be leaving them for a VERY long time and so I said my goodbyes and was on my way! It was not until I had arrived to my new home and unpacked and was ready for bed that it hit me and I could feel the tears coming. Tears, not because I disliked my new home, but because my new home meant I no longer had the other one (at least for a year)
I did not know what to expect the next morning I woke up. My host parents had gone to work early in the morning and I had all day to unpack and settle in. So for the first two days I stayed in and was given a tour of the city which I LOVED and La costa negra, which is the coast along the Parana river (the river that divides my city in Argentina from Encarnacion in Paraguay). La Costa Negra is probably my favorite part of the Posadas. People used to swim in it until a tragedy that occurred last year. Eight people died while racing across the river. Some were saving those who were crossing and others were mere 13 year olds who got caught in the rift.
So yesterday I decided to cook for my host family nothing other than my favorite mexican dish... ENCHILADAS! Now one thing about Argentine people is that they DO NOT eat spicy foods. For them spicy is pepper... and that is as far as they go. So the salsa I had in mind to use had to be watered down with caldo de pollo (chicken broth) but in the end the enchiladas were quite a success! We had frjoles (beans) with them as well but here they are called "porotos". Which brings me to my next point...
Although Argentina and Mexico are both spanish speaking countries, there are MANY words that they either use differently or have another word for.
CAUTION: the following examples may contain rude/grotesque descriptions/words
For Example, "trastes" are dishes in Mexico but for the Argentine people it is a butt. And so when I said " Who wants to wash the dishes?" it translated into "who wants to wash butts?" and the entire table burst out laughing. Another one which I will never forget is that of "El dulce de leche" which is like caramel here. In Mexico, we have something similar to it called "cajeta" but here cajeta is well... something pertaining to a female part of the body. haha. So when I told them I liked to eat bananas with caramel, well I pretty much set my self up for a year of banter.
As some of you may or may not know, it is winter here in South America and it is VERY cold and so to keep warm the people drink mate. Mate is like a hot tea. It is served in a goblet looking cup and dranken with a metal straw usually with some design on the end. Mate is the mixture of hot water and a lot of herbs. My host family did not want for me to try it in the car with them because those who drink it for the first time usually have a bad reaction to it. haha. And YES I did say in the car.
When I say they drink mate anywhere anytime... I mean ANYWHERE ANYTIME.
In the store, on the couch, at the gym, at a party, in the club, at work, on the street, in the yard, in the bed, at school... From dawn 'til dusk.
Well I promised I would keep it short so I will stop writing now!
I will update this more often so that I can keep each update a lot shorter!
hasta manana
No comments:
Post a Comment