I just realized I failed to write about my day yesterday, so this is a two in one deal.
Okay, so... Yesterday my family took me to eat at the ONLY chinese restaurant here in Posadas because I told them how much I liked it. They made an effort to eat spicy food once again, which I thought was very cute. (They didn't end up finishing their meal) haha
Because I am an exchange student and should supposedly not be fluent in the language my host country speaks, I decided to only speak english yesterday which turned out to be very amusing for both the family and myself. I even spoke in english to the waitress and I had the entire restaurant FOOLED! It was a classic. Note to self: I will definitely do that more often... haha
Then we went to a Rotarian's house (Julio Cesar Oegg) to have coffee and talked about the WONDERFUL trips I will be making and all the exchange students I will be meeting... pause for dramatic effect... YAYYYY! The moment I have been waiting for so long! He said we were all going to meet at the Iguazu Falls once we all arrive. I am one of the first exchange students here and so we will probably all go mid september. And by all, I mean EVERYONE in my district (50 of us)
Then we went to walk at the Costa NERA *correction* I called it la costa NEGRA last time because my host brother tricked me! >:( haha And we walked along the coast, but unfortunately it was veryyyyyyy cold and I could not enjoy it as much. We visited the little stands on the side of the river and I got to try MATE for the first time! FINALLY! hah It wasn't that bad... I actually kind of liked it....
:)
So then Flor (my host sister) decided it was too cold and ditched me! I was left with my host cousin Quique who has been super nice to me, and by nice I mean drives me everywhere and never makes a face. We drank mate in the freezing cold and in the middle of the street, which apparently everyone does here. Just stands in the cold air and sips on their mate while playing loud music in the back of their cars. EVERYONE has their own music and so it pretty much sounds like a mixture of crap (pardon my language but I could not find a better fitting word for that sentence) And so once our hands were about to fall off from the cold, we decided to leave.
I then went to the Kareoke with my host sister and some friends and we sang/ danced the night away.
That concludes yesterday and now today....
So I woke up to the sound of my mother's knocking on the door and was informed that we would be eating at our grandmother's house. A woman of 85 with 10 children and 50 grand children! We ate a traditional Posadas meal (meat, soup, mandioca, and a concoction of cheese and bread) and was introduced to their lovely chihuahua Leon (Lion)
We then left and I decided to walk downtown to visit my sister at work. It took me forty minutes in the freezing rain. Not a good idea. I talked with her and met some locals who told me it was blatant that I was definitely not from around here just by the mere fact that I am a foot taller than everyone else... haha
We then caught up with a friend and ate Panchos which are hot dogs. They were delicious!
Then I came back home and ate AGAIN with the entire family and then some. And what did we have? Oh yeah... Meat.. again! haha Thank goodness I am not a vegetarian!
Well I better go now... tomorrow I start school at 7 in the morning which mean I have to wake up at 5 :(
And its is midnight... I better get some rest.
Adios!
No comments:
Post a Comment